Cycle In Style With SF Tweed Ride

Tweed

Cruising through the intersection of bicycle culture and fashion, we find the San Francisco Tweed cyclists. When you spot their bike baskets, bow-ties, kilts, and determined faces racing down Market Street, you may agree with me when I say there’s nothing uncool about the SF Tweed Ride. I joined a smaller ride in the Spring (or, I trotted along as far as two feet could get me) and stepped on a culture that made me finally wish I could mount my own steed.

Tweed3b

Maybe I can’t fully appreciate the journey without pushing pedals alongside the group, but I can say these tweeders are quite stylish. From seersucker blazers and woolen breeches to handmade corsets and newsboy caps, there’s a whole lot of dapper potential in this niche of San Francisco bike riding.

Tweed4

The SF Tweed Summer Ride is coming up this Saturday, July 28th. Riders sally forth from Justin Herman Plaza and follow the surprise route throughout the city’s bike-friendly streets while holding up Intersection Diplomat signs with phrases like “We’re pedaling as fast as we can Gov’ner!” and stopping at a pub or two to fuel up. Also, it sounds like the Goorin Bros. hat shop are sponsoring a helmet/hat limerick contest, so ye dandies best prepare. Tally ho!

All photos by Erin Browner

Thoughts?

